EVENTS -IFRS Disclosures and MD&A: It’s 2010 and THE HEAT IS ON

Download PDF Brochure PDF

Tuesday, March 23, 2010 - Web Based Seminar

Seminar Overview

The requirements of CSA’s Staff Notice 52-320 Disclosure of Expected Changes in Accounting Policies Relating to Changeover to International Financial Reporting Standards (SN 52-320) drive issuer’s IFRS disclosure requirements under Form 51-102 F1 Management’s Discussion & Analysis (MD&A). With a little more than a year left before the first wave of IFRS compliant financial statements are published, it is an important responsibility of management to provide investors with visibility into IFRS transition activities and to minimize surprises with respect to the impact of moving from GAAP to IFRS. Is your team doing what it should with respect to required IFRS disclosures? Find out. This information rich, seminar brings together the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and industry experts to help you focus on IFRS disclosure requirements and your MD&A obligations.

Benefits of Attending:

  • Understand your company’s IFRS disclosure obligations under CSA Staff Notice 52-320 and Form 51-102
  • Learn from the OSC’s perspective as to the weaknesses and concern areas with respect to current levels of IFRS disclosures
  • Accelerate your IFRS transition activities
  • Determine your organizations readiness with respect to IFRS transition
  • Familiarize yourself with industry leading tools to streamline your IFRS activities and reduce the transition workload
  • Convenient and affordable session format allows you to access the sessions over the web

Who Should Attend?: CFOs, Audit Committee Members, Controllers, IFRS Project Managers and all who are involved with easing the transition from GAAP-to-IFRS.

Highlights will include:

  • Two special IFRS Issues sessions covering critical topic areas for all organizations moving to IFRS compliant financial reporting
  • One optional IFRS Solution session that highlights tools to help you accelerate your GAAP-to-IFRS transition activities including the drafting of all required IFRS policies as well as the development of 2010 transition financials (GAAP and IFRS comparatives) and related disclosures
  • Free seminar materials to help you prepare for the challenges ahead
  • Leading edge thinking with respect to best practices for your IFRS transition activities
  • Q&A time built into each session to address your issues

SEMINAR and REGISTRATION INFORMATION


Date: Tuesday, March 23, 2010
Audience: Exclusively for Publicly Accountable Enterprises making the transition to IFRS in 2011
Cost: $ 175 per attendee plus GST
Location: Over the internet using WebEx
Time: Ninety (90) minute web seminar beginning at 12pm EDT
          (9am PST, 10am MST, 11am CST, and 1pm AST)
Registration: Via Seminar Registration website by Registering Here or call
                      1.800.410.6681 ext 112


Issue Session 1

OSC Staff Notice 52-718

IFRS Transition Disclosure Review

The Regulator’s View on IFRS Disclosure

45 Minutes

Time:
12pm EDT (9am PST, 10am MST, 11am CST, 1pm AST)

Speakers to include:
Kelly Mireault, Corporate Finance, Ontario Securities Commission (OSC)

 

Agenda

This session will cover the key points covered in the February 5, 2010 OSC Staff Notice 52-718 including the findings from the review of over one-hundred issuers’ IFRS related MD&A disclosures and the regulators expectations with respect to more forthcoming IFRS disclosures for both 2009 annual MD&A as well as interim disclosures throughout 2010. Additional in-depth review will be provided of detailed disclosures in the areas of accounting policy changes, disclosures, internal controls over financial reporting, systems and data, and more.

 

Issue Session 2

Accelerating Your IFRS Transition Activities in 2010

Identify Your Company’s IFRS Readiness and Transition
“Hot Spots”

45 Minutes

Time:
12:45pm EDT (9:45am PST, 10:45am MST, 11:45am CST, 1:45pm AST)

Presented by:
Cathy Connally, CIA, President of Issues Central, Inc.

 

Agenda

Your IFRS transition activities and progress will drive disclosures throughout 2010. In order to accelerate your IFRS activities, this session will help you pinpoint areas for greater project focus including the drafting of required IFRS policies, impact assessment considerations, quantification of IFRS adjustments, seeking audit committee approvals and external auditor feedback, and developing your 2010 transition financials with disclosures.

Note: Attendees to this session will receive an IFRS Readiness Assessment Diagnostic toolkit

 

Optional Solution Session 1

IFRS Made Easy .... with IFRS PARTNER

Note: This session is of value to all entities moving to IFRS including TSX and TSX Venture listed entities, Credit Unions, and Government Agencies

30 Minutes

Time:
1:30pm EDT (10:30am PST, 11:30am MST, 12:30pm CST, 2:30pm AST)

Presented by:
The IFRS PARTNER team demonstrating Canada’s leading solution for a rapid and affordable GAAP-to-IFRS transition.

 

Agenda

Let the IFRS PARTNER product help you draft your IFRS policies, conduct your impact analysis, document your transition activities, quantify your IFRS adjustments, and then develop your 2010 transition financials with numbers and disclosures.